Contact the AMWA North Central Chapter officers by emailing bod (at) list.amwanorthcentral (dot) org

President – Dr. Abayomi Olaniyi, MBBS, MPH, PhD

Dr. Abayomi Olaniyi MBBS, MPH, PhD is a Public Health practitioner and instructor with Saskatoon Health Region. Dr. Olaniyi has over 30 years of experience, specifically in the area of health program design, planning, promotion, surveillance, and implementation of intervention strategies that improve communicable and non-communicable disease outcomes in the community. In addition, Dr. Olaniyi has acquired research skills that include knowledge of conducting qualitative and quantitative research methodologies using varieties of databases.

President- Elect – Theodore Sadler, PhD

Dr. Theodore Sadler, PhD, MSc is a published author in several peer-reviewed scientific journals, invited speaker to academic institutions, and presenter at international conferences. Theodore has a BA in Biology from Boston University, and his doctorate in Pathobiology from the University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine focused on elucidating the potential mechanisms leading to severe affective disorders in adulthood in an animal model. Theodore has over 20 years of academic and industry experience covering clinical, medical, regulatory, and scientific writing roles, where he has had the esteemed pleasure previously working for Medtronic, Air Liquide America, LivaNova, and the University of California Los Angeles among many.  Currently, Dr. Sadler is a Senior Medical Writer for Abbott Laboratories where his primary focus is providing multiple deliverables covering EU AIMDD, MDD, and MDR requirements. That being stated, among his core competencies are developing abstracts, manuscripts, posters, and slide decks as well as publication plans, regulated documents, and analysis of datasets. When not spending quality time with his family, Theodore is a published travel writer and photographer, triathlete, and active outdoorsmen.


Co-Treasurer – Alexandra Woods, MWC

Lexa is a manager of medical writing for PSI Pharma Support America, with 17 years of experience writing, editing, and supervising development of phase I, II, and III protocols, consent forms, clinical study reports, and summary documents for new drug applications. She previously served as the chapter Treasurer from 2011-2013.

Co-Treasurer – Samuel Smith, MS

Sam has worked for prestigious institutions like Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, and the National Institutes of Health and spent years as an award-winning journalist. Sam is proficient in the full spectrum of medical and scientific communications. He has developed strategic communications assessments and plans, academic manuscripts and books, regulatory documentation, sales and consumer communication, peer-to-peer communications, executive/C-suite communications, presentations, and business plans. Sam has developed content in a wide range of indications from oncology and cardiology to genomics and medical devices. He holds a master of science degree in journalism and a bachelor’s degree in English, pre-medicine, both from University of Illinois.

CoSecretary – Kendra Hyland, PhD

Kendra is clinical evaluation report (CER) writer at Medtronic in the Medical Surgical Group.  She writes CERs for surgical devices used in open and minimally invasive procedures.  Kendra has writing experience in the fields of molecular biology, microbiology, mucosal immunology, and gene therapy. Kendra joined AMWA in 2014, and also has served as the chapter President.

CoSecretary – Laura Chapin, PhD

Laura is a Medical Writer in the Urology and Pelvic Health division at Boston Scientific. Trained in a cell biology lab, Laura pivoted to a career in clinical research and healthcare analytics right after grad school. After spending 8 years in healthcare, she added freelance medical writing and editing to her work experience, before joining Boston Scientific. Laura is interested in connecting with other writers and expanding her professional network. In her free time, Laura enjoys hiking and exploring county parks with her yellow lab, Henry.

Past Officers


2021– Natalie Reirson, BS

2020–Michele Cleary, PhD

2018-2020– Lisa Poppenberg, MPH

2017-2018–Kendra Hyland, PhD

2016-2017–Rebecca Dahlberg, MD

2015-2016–Karen Bannick

2014-2015–Nissa Mollema, PhD

2013-2014–Ruth Taswell

2012-2013–Theresa King-Hunter

2011-2012—Karen Steinhilber

2010-2011—Michael Franklin

2009-2010—Kimberly McGhee, PhD

2008-2009—Randall Fritz, DVM

2007-2008—Brenda Hudson, PhD

2006-2007—Colleen Sauber

2005-2006—Anne Marie Weber-Main, PhD

2002-2004—Donna Bowlin

2000-2002—Paul Mamula, PhD

1998-1999—Eugene Millhouse, PhD

1994-1995—Barbara Gaynor

1992-1993—Mary Knatterud

1988-1989—James Kaufmann, PhD

1987-1988—Martha Heiberg

1986-1987—Angela Henriksen

1985-1986—Jack Key

1984-1985—Robert Howard

1983-1984—Deanna Servick

1982-1983—Kay Savoie

1981-1982—Guy Whitehead, PhD

1980-1981—David Florence, MD

1979-1980—John Callahan, MD

1978-1979—Stan Carlson

1978—Beth Grendahl

1977—Jack Key

1976—Barbara Cox

1974—Reuben Berman


2021– Dr. Abayomi Olaniyi, MBBS, MPH, PhD

2019-2020–Nathalie Reierson

2018-2019 – Michele Cleary

2017-2018–Lisa Poppenberg

2016-2017–Kendra Hyland

2015-2016—Rebecca Dahlberg

2014-2015—Karen Bannick

2013-2014—Nissa Mollema

2012-2013—Ruth Taswell

2011-2012—Theresa King-Hunter

2010-2011—Karen Steinhilber

2009-2010—Michael Franklin

2008-2009—Kimberly McGhee, PhD

2007-2008—Randall Fritz, DVM

2006-2007—Brenda Hudson, PhD

2005-2006—Colleen Sauber

2004—Colleen Duffy

2001-2002—Colleen Duffy

1991-1992—Mary Knatterud

1988-1989—Jane Hodgson, MD

1987-1988—James Kaufmann, PhD

1986-1987—Martha Heiberg

1985-1986—Angela Henriksen

1984-1985—Jack Key

1983-1984—Robert Howard, MD

1982-1983—Deanne Servick

1981-1982—Kay Savoie

1980-1981—Guy Whitehead, PhD

1979-1980—David Florence, MD

1978-1979—John Callahan, MD

1978—Stan Carlson

1977—Beth Grendahl

1976—Jack Key

Vice President

1988-1990—Mary Knatterud (Twin Cities) and LeAnn Stee (Rochester)

1987-1988—Frances Munnings

1986-1987—Timothy Shea

1985-1986—Sheila Nauman Todd

1984-1985—Angela Henriksen

1983-1984—Jack Key

1982-1983—Judith Gunn Bronson

1981-1982—Deanne Servick

1980-1981—Kay Savoie

1980—Guy Whitehead, PhD

1979—John Hutcheson

1978-1979—David Florence, MD

1978—John Callahan, MD

1977—Stan Carlson

1976—Beth Grendahl


2018-2020–Amelia Young

2016-2018—Lynelle Martinez

2014-2016—Naomi Ruff

2012-2014–Carolyn Peterson

2010-2012—Mary Pat McGinnis

2009-2010—Roxanne Landon

2007-2010—June Oshiro

2005-2008—Charyl Dutton Gibbs

2001-2004—Leslie Charles


2016-2020—Ellen O’Malley

2015-2017—Venugopal “Venu” Thayanithy

2013-2015—Joy Frestedt

2011-2013—Alexandra Woods

2008-2011—Liz Davies, MSW

2008—Brenda Hudson, PhD

2006-2007—Cynthia Sparks

2005-2007—Leslie Charles

2001-2004—Ivar Arthur Zemmels, PhD


1974-1996—Elaine Nye, PhD